The islands of Mohai

Some basic information.

The archipelago of Mohai lies to the east of the continent of Aheku on the planet Tekuo. It consists of four main islands: Itoa, Kẽpa, Pheku and Sumahi along with many smaller ones. Mohai lies in the tropical zone and has a monsoon climate.

It has an area of 326,510 square kilometres (126,065 square miles) and a population of 26.2 million. This works out at 80.2 people per square kilometre. It has a similar area, population and population density to the African state of Ivory Coast.

Mohai is an island chain lying on a south-west to north-east axis. It consists mostly of low, rolling hills and coastal plains with rich volcanic and alluvial soils. These rise towards a central spine of rocky mountains, some of which are extinct or active volcanoes.

The archipelago is a republic with its capital at Orisu, a port city on the west coast of Itoa. The second city is Turakho a port on the island of Kẽba. For administrative purposes, the islands are divided into provinces which have a large degree of autonomy.

Mohai also rules a number of outlying island groups. Some of these have a degree of local autonomy, but none are large enough for full provincial status.

The population includes a few small minority groups, but the vast majority are ethnic Romohai who speak Lemohai and follow the Sutane faith.

The economy is strong. Citizens of Mohai enjoy one of Tekuo’s highest standards of living, thanks to their high-tech economy and strong service sector.

Author: David Johnson

Conlanger, writer and activist.

3 thoughts on “The islands of Mohai”

Leave a Reply